Google is following and storing your location data, even if you have turned off location tracking in settings, and you may not be aware of it.
Your position is saved with a timestamp just by accessing Google Maps or Google Search.
According to a 2018 study by the Associated Press, Google has made it easy to manage which locations and data are retained and which are removed.
Turning off location history will simply remove your information from the Google Timeline function, which will continue to track your information at particular periods.
Even when location history is switched off,’ some location data may continue to be kept in other settings,’ according to the Google Support website.
Google justifies the data breach by claiming that it is used to personalize features and that the information is never shared with a third party.
There are a few methods to limit Google’s influence over your personal data, but doing so may impair the app’s tailored capabilities, which offer us the suggestions we need at the correct time.
Log in to your account via a browser on your laptop or phone to switch off the function on your phone.
After that, go to ‘Manage your account’ and then ‘Privacy and Personalisation.
You should go to Things you’ve done and places you’ve been,’ then click on ‘Location History,’ ‘History Settings,’ and then ‘Activity Controls.
‘ You’ll find the option to turn it off beneath ‘Location History.’
You may also remove your past location history by navigating to ‘Activity Controls’ and selecting ‘Manage History,’ after which you can move all of your data to ‘Trash.’
Similarly, you may erase Web Activity by going to your History settings and clicking on ‘Activity Controls.’